To find a press release, please use the Search field or click on a year and then scroll down to view results.

Fields Set for WinStar Kentucky Cup Day of Champions

Thursday, September 22, 2011 12:00 AM
  • Kentucky Cup
FLORENCE, Ky., Sept. 22, 2011 – Mike Maker's Baryshnikov is the slight favorite at 3-1 in what has emerged as a closely matched field for the WinStar Kentucky Cup (G2), the feature race of the WinStar Kentucky Cup Day of Champions at Turfway Park Saturday.

Entries were taken and post positions drawn today. The five stakes races that make up the core of the day drew as follows:

The WinStar Kentucky Cup (G2)
$200,000 guaranteed (includes $50,000 KTDF)
One mile and one-sixteenth, Three-year-olds and upward

Post Horse Trainer Jockey Weight Morning Line
1 Workin for Hops Michael Stidham Joe Talamo 120 7-2
2 Strike Impact Patrick Dupuy Calvin Borel 118 9-2
3 Shediak (FR) Ben D. A. Cecil Patrick Valenzuela 118 4-1
4 Demarcation Paul McGee Jesus Castanon 120 8-1
5 Baryshnikov Michael Maker Corey Lanerie 118 3-1
6 Future Prospect Dodson Skaggs Edgar Prado 118 10-1
7 Havelock Darrin Miller Jermaine Bridgmohan 118 10-1
8 General Quarters Thomas McCarthy Jamie Theriot 118 6-1

The Distorted Humor Kentucky Cup Distaff (G3)
$100,000 guaranteed
One mile and one-sixteenth, Fillies and mares three-years-old and upward

Post Horse Trainer Jockey Weight
1 La Gran Bailadora Michael Maker Corey Lanerie 120
2 High Quality Paul McGee Brian Hernandez Jr. 116
3 Kiss Mine David Vance Terry Thompson 120
4 Bella Medaglia Bret Calhoun Jamie Theriot 118
5 Upperline Michael Stidham Joe Talamo 120
6 Persuading Dale Romans Jesus Castanon 118
7 Ailalea Todd Pletcher Edgar Prado 116

The Speightstown Kentucky Cup Sprint (G3)
$100,000 guaranteed
Six furlongs, Three-year-olds

Post Horse Trainer Jockey Weight
1 Free Entry Ron Moquett Kent Desormeaux 118
2 Big Albert Kathy Jarvis Roberto Morales 118
3 Cal Nation Todd Pletcher Jesus Castanon 118
4 Lou Brissie Michael Maker Jon Court 118
5 Will’s Wildcat James Baker Calvin Borel 118
6 Chilled Paul McGee Corey Lanerie 118
7 Unsaddled Glory Ernest Retamoza Sr. Marcelino Pedroza 118
8 Matthewsburg Michael Maker Victor Lebron 118
9 Song of Humor Milton Gaede Yuri Yaranga 118
10 Ronin Dax David Vance Terry Thompson 120
11 Philippe James Baker Edgar Prado 118

The Bluegrass Cat Kentucky Cup Juvenile
$100,000 guaranteed (includes $25,000 from KTDF)
One mile and one-sixteenth, Two-year-olds

Post Horse Trainer Jockey Weight
1 Downtown Driggs Paul McEntee Perry Ouzts 116
2 My Newfound Saint David Asbury Roberto Morales 116
3 Space Traveler Todd Pletcher Jesus Castanon 116
4 Pryce’s Posse Tim Ice Edgar Prado 116
5 Fine Bret Calhoun Jamie Theriot 116
6 Hollywood Script Patrick Byrne Calvin Borel 116
7 Future Larry Holt John McKee 116
8 Hansen Michael Maker Victor Lebron 116

The Tiznow Kentucky Cup Juvenile Fillies
$100,000 guaranteed (includes $25,000 from KTDF)
One mile, Fillies, two-year-olds

Post Horse Trainer Jockey Weight
1 Spring Eclipse David Vance Terry Thompson 116
2 Queen Anna Daniel Sanner Sal Gonzalez Jr. 116
3 Rainbow Blossom Michael Stidham Joe Talamo 116
4 Victorian Diva Donald Hunt Roberto Morales 116
5 Heated Debate John Cox Jesus Castanon 116
6 Little Sadie Don Mills Matthew Straight 116
7 Best of Times William Denzik Jr. Brian Hernandez Jr. 116
8 Charming Vixen Thomas Amoss Calvin Borel 116
9 Rusticana Jeffrey Thornbury Edgar Prado 116
10 Tavern on the Bay Danny Turner Oriana Rossi 116
11 Flashy Lassie Garry Simms Kent Desormeaux 122

First post Saturday is 1:10 p.m. The five stakes will run as races six through 10.

Return to List